Assign or remove roles

how-to Steps to accomplish one task

On this page

In this article, you will learn how to assign and remove roles for users to manage their access to features within CluedIn.

Assign roles

After you add a user to CluedIn, you can give the user access to more features within the platform by adding other roles to the user.

You can assign roles to the users in two places within the platform:

The following diagram shows the flow of assigning roles to users.

Flow diagram: a user with the required access level assigns a role to a user; the user receives an email with the role change notification, signs out and signs in to CluedIn, then explores and uses the features granted by the new role

Assign roles in Users

You can review the roles that are already assigned to the user and assign other roles in the Users section.

To assign roles to a user in the Users section

  1. On the navigation pane, go to Administration > User Management. Then, select Users.

  2. On the All users page, select the user to whom you want to assign the role. Then, go to the Roles tab.

  3. Select Add role to user.

  4. On the Add role to user pane, select the roles that you want to assign to the user. In the upper-right corner, select Add Roles, and then confirm that you want to assign the role to the user.

    The Add role to user pane with the DataCompliance role selected and the Add Roles button

    A new role is assigned to the user and it is displayed on the Roles tab of the User Details page.

    The Roles tab of a user's details page listing the assigned OrganizationAdmin role, with the Add role to user button

    The user will receive an email about the role changes. For the changes to take effect, the user has to sign out and sign in again.

Assign roles in Roles

You can review the users who have been already added to the role and add other users in the Roles section.

To assign roles to a user in the Roles section

  1. On the navigation pane, go to Administration > Roles.

  2. Select the role that you want to assign to the user. Then, go to the Users tab. Here, you can view the users who have been added to the role.

  3. Select Add users.

  4. On the Select users to add pane, find and select the users that you want to add to the role. In the upper-right corner, select Add users, and then confirm that you want to add the users to the role.

    The Select users to add pane with one user selected and the Add users button

    The users are added to the role and they are displayed on the Users tab of the role.

    The Users tab of the DataGovernance role listing the two users that were added to the role

    The users will receive an email about the role changes. For the changes to take effect, the users have to sign out and sign in again.

Remove roles

The following diagram shows the flow of removing roles from users.

Flow diagram: a user with the required access level removes a role from a user; the user receives an email with the role change notification, signs out and signs in to CluedIn, then can no longer access the features granted by the removed role

To remove roles from a user

  1. On the navigation pane, go to Administration > Roles. Then, select the needed role.

    Alternatively, you can go to Administration > User Management > Users. Select a user, go to the Roles tab, and then select the role that you want to remove from the user.

  2. Go to the Users tab.

  3. Select the checkbox next to the user whom you want to remove from the role.

  4. Select Remove from role, and then confirm your choice.

    The Users tab of the DataGovernance role with one user selected and the Remove from role action shown

    The role is removed from the user. The user will receive an email about the role changes. For the changes to take the effect, the users have to sign out and sign in again.