Manage rulesmanagement rules
- Edit a rule
- Delete a rule
- Activate and deactivate a rule
- Edit rule processing order
- Process pending changes
In this article, you will learn how to manage rules to keep them organized, efficient, and aligned with your data management goals.
You can edit a rule to make necessary changes in rule name, description, filters, and actions.
To edit a rule
In the rule details page, make the needed changes.
If you are the owner of the rule, near the upper-right corner of the rule details page, select Save.
After you confirm that you want to update the rule, your changes will be applied immediately.
If you are not the owner of the rule, near the upper-right corner of the rule details page, select Submit for approval.
The owner of the rule will receive a notification about your changes and can then approve or reject them.
You can delete a rule in any status if you no longer need it. You can delete a rule only if you are the owner of the rule; you cannot delete rules created by other users.
There are two ways to delete a rule:
From the list of rules – this option allows you to delete multiple rules at once.
From the rule details page.
To delete a rule from the list of rules
Select the checkbox next to the rule that you want to delete.
Select Delete, and then confirm your choice.
To delete a rule from the rule details page
- Select the delete icon. Then, confirm your choice.
After the rule is deleted, the records affected by the rule will still contain changes according to the rule’s action. However, when you reprocess such records, they will return to their initial state before the rule was applied.
When active, the rule is applied to records that match its filter during processing or reprocessing. If you no longer want to apply the rule, you can deactivate it. Yet, if you change your mind, you can easily activate the rule.
There are two ways to activate and deactivate a rule:
From the list of rules – this option allows you to activate or deactivate multiple rules at once.
From the rule details page.
To activate or deactivate the rule from the list of rules
Select the checkbox next to the rule that you want to activate or deactivate.
Near the upper-right corner of the list of rules, select the needed action.
To activate or deactivate the rule from the rule details page
- Near the upper-right corner, turn on or off the status toggle.
After the rule is deactivated, the records affected by the rule will still contain changes according to the rule’s action. However, when you reprocess such records, they will return to their initial state before the rule was applied.
The default rule processing order is the order in which the rules were created. However, you have the flexibility to adjust the rule processing sequence. This allows you to prioritize the execution of specific rules over others. For example, if you have two rules with the same filters but different actions, you can determine which rule should be applied to the records first.
To edit the rule processing order
In the list of rules, near the upper-right corner, select Edit Rule Processing Order.
Change the rule processing order by doing one of the following:
Select the rule and drag it to the needed position.
Choose the number of the rule to define the order of processing.
Move the rule up or down by using the arrows in the right side of the rule.
If you are the owner of the rule and somebody else makes changes to the rule, you’ll receive a notification about a request for approval. All requests are listed on the Pending Changes tab of the rule.
To process pending changes
Review the details of the change request by selecting View Changes.
A new pane opens, where you can view the changes to the rule.
Depending on whether you agree with the suggested changes, in the Actions tab, select Approve or Reject.
If you approved the change request, the rule is updated accordingly. If you rejected the change request, no changes are made to the rule.